Petrodvorets (Peter's Palace), formerly called Peterhof, one of the major palace-and-park complexes
in the suburbs of St.-Petersburg, was founded by Peter the Great in the suburbs of the "new capital"
of Russia in the early 18th century. The stately parks, innumerable fountains, beautiful cascades,
guilt and marble statues of gods and heroes, exhuberant decoration of the palaces in Peterhof were
meant to symbolize the grandeur of Russia, which "having cut a window on Europe" consolidated
itself on the shores of the Baltic Sea. Many celebrated architects, sculptors, artists as well as thousands
of talented craftsmen contributed to the creation of this magnificient monument of Russian culture.
In the course of the tragic period from September 23, 1941 to January 19, 1944 when, occupied by the
Nazi invaders, Petrodvorets was virtually destroyed, nearly all of its architectural monuments were
reduced to ruins, the unique water-supplying system, feeding the fountains, was badly damaged and
over 30.000 museum exhibits were plundered and destroyed. The Great Patriotic War (1941 - 1945) was
still going on when the work of reconstruction of Petrodvorets began. During the post-war years the
palaces, cascades and parks were restored, and they started a new life. Recreated by the selfless labour,
the talent and enthusiasm of the restorers, architects and horticulturalists, Petrodvorets has become
a victory's symbol of the humanism over barbary, a superb monument to the heroism of Russian
- The Great Palace and the Great Cascade.
- The Great Cascade and the Water Avenue.
- The Gold Mountain Cascade.
- The Great Palace. The Throne Room.
- The Great Palace. The Portrait Room.
- The Great Palace. The White Dining Room.
- The Hermitage Pavilion.
- The Hermitage Pavilion. The Upper Hall.
- The Palace "Monplaisir".
- The Marly ensemble.
- Sea Terrace near the Palace "Monplaisir".
- The Palace "Monplaisir". Gallery.